02/14 - 02/16/2018

Centre for Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Marburg, Germany

International Academic Workshop in Marburg on "The Politics of Culture in Contemporary Turkey". The purpose of this workshop will be to investigate contemporary (counter)hegemonic discourses on culture in Turkish society.

Until the 15th of November, papers can be handed in - you can find the Call for Papers here.

Political power in modern, capitalist societies, as outlined by Antonio Gramsci in his famous "Prison Notebooks", works through consensus more than force. Consensus, however, is based on the ruling elite's ability to obtain cultural hegemony and to establish its world view as the commonly accepted norm. Accordingly, culture must be seen as a site of ideological struggle in which different world views and ways of life compete with each other. From this perspective, the question of how a person lives—or, more particularly, how a person displays his or her way of life publicly—can easily turn into an ideological power struggle. Lifestyle presence, in this sense, can be an efficient means to lay claim to public space and to demand or contest political power. In our understanding the production of culture is thus not restricted to the realm of the arts (theatre, cinema, visual arts, literature, etc.), but also explicitly includes the realm of the ordinary—that is, performative acts such as, for instance, consuming alcoholic beverages in public or wearing a particular form of dress. Consequentially, this workshop aims to critically engage with questions of everyday cultural politics and institutionalized cultural policies alike.

The organizers Ass. Prof. Dr. Kaya Akyıldız and Dr. Pierre Hecker seek at bringing together researchers from different academic fields. We want to emphasize that this call is also open for scholars, creative artists, and cultural producers who do not have a university affiliation and are interested in a critical discussion of the following issues, among others:

  • cultural resistance and containment as represented in contemporary Turkish cinema, music, street art, fine arts, photography, literature, comic books, etc.
  • neo-religious conservatism as represented in school curricula, television programs, fashion, pious entertainment, etc.
  • neo-Ottomanism
  • secular and religious lifestyle practices
  • politics of difference and representations of nationalist, secular, pious, subcultural, etc. identities
  • cultural economics and cultural policies
  • politics of memory and the re-invention of national history

14.02 - 16.02.2018

Centrum für Nah- und Mittelost-Studien, Marburg

Internationaler Workshop in Marburg zu "Politics of Culture in der zeitgenössichen Türkei". Thematisch geht es schwerpunktmäßig um zeitgenössiche (gegen)hegemoniale Diskurse zu Kultur in der türkischen Gesellschaft.

Bis zum 15. November können noch Beiträge eingereicht werden – der Call of Papers ist hier zu finden.

Politische Macht in modernen, kapitalistischen Gesellschaften (wie von Antonio Gramsci in seinen berühmten "Gefängnisheften" umrissen) wird mehr durch Konsens als durch Gewalt ausgeübt. Konsens beruht jedoch auf der Fähigkeit der herrschenden Elite, kulturelle Hegemonie zu erlangen und ihre Weltanschauung als die allgemein akzeptierte Norm zu etablieren. Dementsprechend muss Kultur als ein Ort ideologischer Auseinandersetzung verstanden werden, in dem verschiedene Weltanschauungen und Lebensweisen miteinander konkurrieren. Aus dieser Perspektive verwandelt sich die Frage, wie ein Mensch lebt – oder besser gesagt, wie eine Person ihre Lebensweise öffentlich zur Schau stellt – leicht in einen ideologischen Machtkampf. Die Präsenz eines bestimmten Lifestyles kann in diesem Sinne als ein effizientes Mittel zur Beanspruchung öffentlichen Raums und der Forderung nach politischer Macht bzw. deren Herausforderung fungieren. In unserem Verständnis ist Kulturproduktion also nicht auf das Reich der Künste (Theater, Kino, bildende Kunst, Literatur usw.) beschränkt, sondern schließt auch explizit das Reich der gewöhnlichen - das heißt, performative Handlungen wie beispielsweise der Konsum alkoholischer Getränke in der Öffentlichkeit oder das Tragen bestimmter Kleidungsstyle. Dieser Workshop zielt daher auch darauf ab, sich kritisch sowohl mit Fragen alltäglicher kultureller Praktiken als auch institutionalisierter Kulturpolitik zu beschäftigen.

Die Organisatoren Ass. Prof. Dr. Kaya Akyıldız und Dr. Pierre Hecker möchten Forscher*innen aus verschiedenen akademischen Bereichen zusammenzubringen. Wir möchten außerdem betonen, dass dieser Aufruf auch für AkademikerInnen, kreative KünstlerInnen und Kulturschaffende offen ist, die keine Hochschulzugehörigkeit haben und sich für eine kritische Diskussion der folgenden Themen interessieren:

  • kultureller Widerstand und Beherrschung in zeitgenössischer türkischer Kunst (Kino, Musik, Straßenkunst, Bildende Kunst, Fotografie, Literatur, Comic-Bücher usw.)
  • neo-religiöser Konservatismus in Schulcurricula, Fernsehprogrammen, Mode, frommer Unterhaltung etc.
  • Neo-Ottomanismus
  • weltliche und religiöse Lifestyle-Praktiken
  • Politik der Differenz und Darstellungen nationalistischer, weltlicher, frommer, subkultureller etc. Identitäten
  • Kulturökonomie und Kulturpolitik (cultural economics and cultural policies)
  • Erinnerungspolitiken und die Wiedererfindung nationaler Geschichte