Project:
How “social” is Turkey?
Project:
Atheism & The Politics of Culture in Contemporary Turkey
Project:
TRIANGLE - Blickwechsel in EU/German-Turkish Relations
Project:
Women’s and Gender Studies at Universities in Turkey
Project:
Constitutional Politics in Turkey

Blickwechsel:
Contemporary Turkey Studies

 "Blickwechsel" is a term that cannot be directly translated and which contains a double meaning: it stands both for eye-contact and for a change in perspective. It is our aim to contribute to a dialogue across national borders, disciplines, and the spheres of the academic and non-academic public.

The interdisciplinary programme "Blickwechsel: Contemporary Turkey Studies" explores in five scientific projects different aspects of current Turkish society, economy, and politics. Researchers at German and Turkish universities work together. A coordination team at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin supports this cooperation.

The exchange of knowledge and insights creates a new perspective on Turkey and, at the same time, on Germany; it is only through the interplay of both perspectives that a comprehensive picture can be realised.

Within the framework of this programme, Stiftung Mercator funds the academic examination of Turkey in Germany and, simultaneously, the interconnectedness of both countries in the areas of research and teaching. The public can also benefit from the virtues of the academic approach: science observes, compares, and analyses – it combines old knowledge with new ideas, explains correlations, and conceptualizes scenarios for the future. While getting as close as possible to the subject of its study, science consciously keeps a distance when the collected data is being analysed. Those findings therefore build a solid ground for a debate based on sound knowledge. The projects thus share their insights with the non-academic public in various formats.

 

 

Sometimes all you need to do is to change your line of vision in order to see clearly.

                    Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

 

Next Events

13.-14.12.2018 Narrations of EU-German/Turkish Relations
Presentation by the project "TRIANGLE" at the CETEUS annual Conference 2018

09.01.2019 Women's and Gender Studies in Turkey caught between academia, state, and civil societyi
Lecture by Prof. Dr. Yasemin Karakaşoğlu and Dr. Charlotte Binder (Project „Women's and Gender Studies at Universities in Turkey") at Uni Hamburg

30.11.2018 - 11.01.2019 Women´s and Gender Studies in Turkey
Lecture Series at Universität Bremen

News

Call for Submissions for the "Bosphorus Prize" Essay Competition
Rethink Europe's Future: Analyzing new geopolitical positioning of Germany and France and their implications on Turkey's European integration process

„Autocracy behind a democratic facade: the political regime in Turkey"
Blog Article by Dr. Ertuğ Tombuş (Project "Constitutional Politics II")

„Difficulties of Social Policy Reform: The Case of Severance Pay
Blog Article by the Project "How Social is Turkey?"

"Erdoğan uses conservative women as flagship"
Interview with Dr. Charlotte Binder (Project "Women's and Gender Studies at Universities in Turkey")

The Projects

The five projects provide a multifaceted picture of contemporary Turkey. In addition to a short presentation of the projects and their objectives, a detailed project description is available for download on the project pages. In order to provide a better understanding of the actual work, research examples show the kind of data and and the manner in which they are used in the projects. Furthermore, an overview of the team members and their contact data is available for each project.

The current projects run from 2017 - 2019. Information about the projects that were part of the programme from 2014 - 2016 can be found under "Previous Projects".

Projekt:
Universitäre Frauen- und Geschlechterstudien in der Türkei
Projekt:
Verfassungspolitik in der Türkei
Projekt:
Atheismus & Die politische Bedeutung von Kultur in der heutigen Türkei
Projekt:
Wie “sozial” ist die Türkei?
Projekt:
TRIANGLE - Blickwechsel in den EU/Deutsch-Türkischen Beziehungen
 
 

Blickwechsel:
Studien zur zeitgenössischen Türkei

Das interdisziplinäre Programm „Blickwechsel: Studien zur zeitgenössischen Türkei" erforscht in fünf wissenschaftlichen Projekten unterschiedliche Aspekte der gegenwärtigen türkischen Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik. ForscherInnen an deutschen und türkischen Universitäten arbeiten hierbei zusammen. Eine Koordinationsstelle an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin unterstützt die Kooperation.

Der Austausch an Kenntnissen und Einblicken schafft eine differenzierte Perspektive auf die Türkei und gleichzeitig auch auf Deutschland; erst im Zusammenspiel beider Blickrichtungen ergibt sich ein umfassendes Bild.

Die Stiftung Mercator fördert mit dem Programm die akademische Auseinandersetzung mit der Türkei in Deutschland und gleichzeitig die Vernetzung zwischen beiden Ländern in den Bereichen Forschung und Lehre. Das, was die wissenschaftliche Betrachtungsweise ausmacht, soll dabei auch der Öffentlichkeit zu Gute kommen: Wissenschaft beobachtet, vergleicht, analysiert – sie verbindet alte Erkenntnisse mit neuen Ideen, erklärt Ursachen und entwirft Szenarien für die Zukunft. Die Forschung kommt ihrem Gegenstand so nahe wie möglich, bleibt in ihren Analysen jedoch bewusst distanziert. Ihre Ergebnisse bieten somit eine gute Grundlage für eine fundierte Auseinandersetzung mit der zeitgenössischen Türkei. Sie werden deshalb in verschiedenen Formaten auch mit der nicht-wissenschaftlichen Öffentlichkeit geteilt.

 

 
„Um klar zu sehen,
genügt oft ein Wechsel der Blickrichtung.“

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

 

Nächste Termine

Public Lecture Series "Mobility, Activism and Politics"
Bis 12.02.2020 jeden Mittwoch um 18:00 Uhr

Neuigkeiten

Einstein – Call for Applications
Der neue ‚Call for Applications' der Einstein Fellows Research Group an der HU kann nun als PDF heruntergeladen werden.

Einstein Fellow von Medyascope interviewt
Einstein Research Fellow Begüm Başdaş wurde von der türkischen Medien-Plattform Medyascope interviewt. Link zum YouTube-Video (auf Türkisch)

"Bosphorus Prize" – Gewinner-Essays
Die Essays der Gewinner*innen des "Bosphorus Prize" 2019 stehen zum Download bereit: Svenja Huck, Mariana Karkoutly & El Salem sowie Ceren Kulkul.

Neue Einstein Fellows in 2020
Latife Akyüz und Zafer Yılmaz sind ab Januar 2020 Teil der Einstein Fellows Research Group.

 

 

Die Projekte

Die fünf Projekte zeichnen ein facettenreiches Bild der gegenwärtigen Türkei. Neben einer kurzen Darstellung der Projekte und ihrer Ziele finden Sie auf den Projektseiten auch eine ausführliche Beschreibung der Inhalte zum Download. Um eine genauere Vorstellung von der eigentlichen Forschungsarbeit zu ermöglichen, zeigen Forschungsbeispiele, welche Daten in den Projekten verwendet und wie sie genutzt werden. Zu jedem Projekt finden Sie zudem eine Übersicht der Teammitglieder und deren Kontaktdaten.

Die aktuellen Projekte laufen von 2017 - 2019. Angaben zu den Projekten, die von 2014 - 2016 Bestandteil des Programms waren, finden Sie unter "Vorherige Projekte".